The Basic: Grilled Cheese

For anyone who has used a stove, toaster oven, panini maker, or iron probably has had the thought cross their mind to grill a sandwich. The real genius threw cheese on said sandwich, thus making The Grilled Cheese. Entering college has made me a true believer in The Grilled Cheese and has led me to try all sorts of recipes to make this glorious sandwich. For example, Cranberry & Brie Grilled Cheese, Pizza Grilled Cheese, Grilled PB&J (no cheese involved, but too good not to mention), and my mom’s personal favorite, the Super Frico Grilled Cheese.

Now, I would like to take the time to say that I am not a professional cook in any stretch of the imagination. I look at a recipe, see what ingredients I have to make that shit happen, and then make it happen (or not depending on how many and what kind of ingredients I have on hand). I will try to provide all the links and proper acknowledgements to those who have created these delicious concoctions, and if that is not possible, then I will simply say that I borrowed the recipe from someone.

Getting back to the post, when it comes to making a grilled cheese in a college dorm, you need 6 things to make this happen.

1) bread (when bread is not available, substitute with tortilla)
2) cheese of any kind will do
3) butter or olive oil
4) pan of some sort
5) heat source
6) something to flip the sandwich over (your fingers do not count)

*Also, anything that you feel would taste good on a grilled cheese will do as well. Throw some tomato on that bitch or go crazy and put more than one type of cheese on there. Wild, I know.

If you have all of these things, then you can make a grilled cheese. Something to keep in mind when making this wonderful meal, is  that it is quite easy (in my opinion), to burn a grilled cheese. With that in mind, be attentive to your grilled cheese. Give the pan time to heat up before placing the sandwich in it. Don’t let it just lie on the pan for minutes on end; it will probably be ready to flip over after 3 minutes (5 minutes tops). I include this because I have made many a grievous error in leaving my poor, helpless sandwich to burn beyond recognition, resulting in a creation that can only be called charcoal. There are probably some out there that laugh at such a simple mistake. But don’t be fooled; it is due to its simplicity, that it’s so easy to make.

Now, what is your favorite grilled cheese? I wanna see what kind of ideas/recipes are out there for making a wonderful, spandiferous grilled cheese sandwich.

Leave a Reply

